Bechyně Town Museum

Bechyně Town Museum

Here you will learn about the history of the town, its technical monuments, František Křižík and his first electrified railway line Tábor – Bechyně, and the history of the local ceramics school.

Accessibility

Year-round, according to current opening times

Entrance fee

Yes, according to the valid price list

How to get there

The museum is located in the town square, about a 15-minute walk from the train and bus station.

Additional information

The permanent exhibition, gradually created between 2009 and 2014, is dedicated to the history of Bechyně and its surroundings from prehistoric times to the present. Visitors will find, among other things:

  • Archaeological finds from the Bechyňsko region, covering the Stone Age to the Middle Ages
  • A section on Bechyně as a pilgrimage site, featuring the Franciscan monastery built on a rock above the Lužnice River, known for its ribbed vault ceiling and once the most-visited Marian pilgrimage center in South Bohemia
  • A photographic documentation of the construction of the reinforced concrete bridge in Bechyně (1926–1928), a unique technical monument that was listed as a national cultural heritage site in 2014
  • A tribute to the famous inventor František Křižík and his electrified railway project Tábor – Bechyně, known as “Elinka”, which was launched in 1903
  • A replica of a rural living room, offering a glimpse into the main residential space of a countryside home at the end of the 19th century, including the Kozák folk costume, typical for the Táborsko region
  • An important exhibition on the production of local ceramic workshops and manufactories, the development of the professional ceramics school, and the tradition of tile stove making
  • The final section captures the changes in Bechyně during the 20th century, focusing on the development of culture, sports, and industry